THINGS TO DO
Low Head Pilot Station Maritime Museum
The museum is located in the historic convict built Pilots’ Row situated at the Low Head Pilot Station. Designed by Irish
born John Lee Archer who served as Van Diemen’s Land Architect, Pilots’ Row was built in 1835 as a terrace of four-roomed cottages to house the Pilots.
The heritage and rich history of Low Head is celebrated across 12 rooms of the museum.
10am – 4pm daily except Christmas day. A small entry fee applies.
The Lighthouse at Low Head Pilot Station is the third oldest Lightstation in the Commonwealth and second in Tasmania. It was initially established in 1833 before being replaced in 1888. The Lighthouse was designed by Irish born John Lee Archer, who served as Van Diemen’s Land Architect.
The Fog Horn
The restored fog horn at Low Head Pilot Station is one of two operating fog horns remaining in Australia and the only full operational Type ‘G’ system in the world. It is sounded at 12pm every Sunday.
Low Head Penguin Tours
The Coastal Reserve is home to Low Head’s Little Blue and Fairy Penguin colony and allows you to get up close and personal with these amusing animals in their natural environment. Tours are run daily.
Lagoon Bay, Pilots Bay and East Beach
Take a stroll, swim or cast a fishing line off the jetty and enjoy Low Head’s stunning coastal scenery. Boats are welcome at the boat ramp.
Out and About
Explore the nearby attractions with a scenic drive through the Tamar Wine Valley Route, have a hit of golf at one of the world’s top Links golf course, Bridport’s Barnbougle or visit Platypus House and Seahorse World at Beauty Point.